The New Zealand Racing Hall of Fame was established in 2003 with the inaugural event announcing the first of our inductees held in 2006.
Since then 94 horses and people have been inducted to the New Zealand Racing Hall of Fame. Each inductee is celebrated with a short video clip detailing their story and success. These can be viewed on our Inductee Videos page.

Every two years, a new group of inductees are announced and celebrated at an induction dinner event. Our next dinner will be held in 2025.


  • To recognise and honour those whose achievements have enriched the New Zealand thoroughbred industry.
  • To increase national and international interest and participation in New Zealand racing.
  • To develop a prestigious event that has unique appeal to the general public as well as racing enthusiasts.
  • To enhance the image and brand of the New Zealand Racing Hall of Fame event.
  • Inductees are chosen from right across New Zealand thoroughbred history, in two categories, Horses and People.
  • The selection panel comprised journalists, historians and industry professionals.

Selection Criteria

Inductees are chosen from across New Zealand's thoroughbred history and industry in two categories:
Horses, and People

The Selection Committee - made up of recognised journalists, historians, and industry professionals - use set criteria to prioritise and select outstanding contributions to New Zealand thoroughbred racing that now need to be recognised.

Board Members


Cherry Taylor - Cambridge
Cherry and her husband Brent are co-owners of Trelawney Stud near Cambridge. Trelawney is a famous thoroughbred nursery set up and operated by inductee Seton Otway and his family. Cherry has had a life long involvement with the racing industry and is a well-known bloodstock advisor with her own company C N Taylor Consulting.

Executive Officer

Michelle Brock - Cambridge
Michelle has an interest in the racing industry and provides administration and management functions to the Hall of Fame, including managing gala events, project co-ordination, and documentation for the Board.

Inaugural Chairman

Gerald Fell MNZM - Taupo
Gerald retired as the inaugural Chairman of the Board in October 2012. Gerald and his son Duncan are owners of Fairdale Stud - New Zealand's oldest family-owned commercial thoroughbred Stud. Gerald and his late brother Rex have previously stood many successful stallions at stud including champion sire Pakistan. Gerald has raced many outstanding horses including Ajasco, Plume and Tall Poppy and has been responsible for breeding the winners of 36 Group One races and over 200 Stakes winners in 14 countries. Gerald has held significant roles within NZ Thoroughbred Racing, NZ Thoroughbred Breeders Association, NZ Racing Conference, and within racing clubs and committees. In recognition of his lifetime involvement, Gerald was made a Member of the NZ Order of Merit for his services to Racing and Breeding.

Current Directors

Russell Warwick - Matamata
Russell is the studmaster at Westbury Stud which has operations at Karaka and Matamata. Russell is a former Chairman of the Auckland Racing Club.

Steve Davis - Cambridge
Steve is an internationally acclaimed bloodstock auctioneer who undertakes auctioneering duties at Karaka, and in Australia and South Africa. Steve also undertakes television work for Trackside and is Chairman of the Selection Committee.

Paul Moroney - Matamata
Paul is an international bloodstock consultant who has selected and purchased a large number of outstanding racehorses from multiple Group One winner Happyanunoit to more recently the Victoria Derby winner Monaco Consul. Paul has previously trained in partnership with brother Mike and has been involved in the New Zealand racing industry for over 25 years.

Allan Fenwick ONZM - Marton
Allan is a former chief executive of New Zealand Thoroughbred Racing and was previously a partner in the national accounting firm – Ernst & Young. Allan has a wealth of knowledge on the New Zealand racing industry and has been a Director of the TAB, Racing Board and Committeeman of the Manawatu Racing Club. He has bred and/or raced many successful horses, mostly in syndicates, including Plume. Allan is a member and Secretary of the Selection Committee and was honoured by the Queen in the 2017 Queen's Birthday Honours List.

Mark Chitty - South Auckland
Mark is a qualified veterinarian and is the owner of the internationally respected stud farm - Haunui Farm.  Mark is a former National Councillor and Deputy Chairman of New Zealand Thoroughbred Breeders Association.

Chris Doak - Hamilton

Chris established Canterbury Park Farm, a boutique horse farm in the Waikato in 1998. The farm has produced a number of group winners including champion Hong Kong horse Egyptian Ra. Chris has previously held positions on the Cambridge Jockey Club committee, and was previously stable foreman for Dave and Jan Kerr racing stable based at Riccarton, travelling and racing horses in Australia and New Zealand.

Chris currently works for an engineering advisory firm out of Melbourne, advising on due diligence processes for large scale infrastructure transactions.  Chris’s corporate background includes senior executive management positions in the electricity sector, Chief Executive of Hamilton International Airport, and previously led regional tourism in the central North Island.

Justine Sclater - Matamata
Justine has had a lifetime involvement in the New Zealand Thoroughbred industry, a passionate thoroughbred breeder who owns and operates a thoroughbred agistment farm Kirkwall Thoroughbreds in Te Poi, Matamata. A regular yearling vendor at Karaka Sales she also owns a small broodmare band and several racehorses. Currently, Justine’s role is as the Chief Executive of the New Zealand Thoroughbred Breeders Association based in Cambridge.

Craig Baker - Auckland 
Craig has been involved in the racing industry for nearly twenty years holding positions at New Zealand Thoroughbred Racing, Wellington Racing Club, Westbury Stud and Auckland Racing Club/Auckland Thoroughbred Racing where he currently holds the position of Executive GM – Racing & Operations.